Museum of TechnologyMagdeburg
The history of the Museum of Technology
From a production hall to an exhibition depot...
Since the City of Magdeburg is strongly characterized by its industry, there have been various attempts in the past to establish a museum which was intended to deal with the industrial and cultural past of the city and its region.

A first modest start was made in 1958 when an exhibition hall for technical equipment was opened in the Museum of Cultural History in Magdeburg. Due to limited space, a comprehensive exhibition which would have done justice to the long tradition and variety of trades and industry in Magdeburg was just not possible. In 1993, the city of Magdeburg decided to establish a Museum of Technology in the former production hall number 18 of the heavy machinery combine "Schwermaschinenbau-Kombinat Ernst-Thälmann" (SKET).

The hall in which goods for railway and military purposes were produced by means of a permanent mold casting method, specially developed by Hermann Gruson, was built in 1871 and originally belonged to the Gruson works. When the Gruson works were taken over by the company
Friedrich Alfred Krupp from Essen in 1893, large parts of armaments orders of the Krupp-Gruson works were taken over by the production site in Essen. Nevertheless, the former casting factory for amor plates turned out to be an important production site for the German military industry. The armaments production in Magdeburg, which was especially important during the Second World War, was one reason why large parts of the city were destroyed in 1945.

Later, the factory was run as a Soviet joint-stock company and was renamed "Ernst-Thälmann-Werk" in 1951. In 1969, the factory was turned into a state combine and parent company of the SKET. By then, it was the center of heavy machinery production in the German Democratic Republic. After German reunification, the hall was used for steel production until 1993.

The museum was opened with an exhibition depot in May 1995.

TechnikmuseumMagdeburg
Zur Geschichte des Technikmuseums
Von einer Produktionshalle zum Schaudepot ...
Schon mehrfach gab es in Magdeburg Ansätze, in dieser von Industrie geprägten Stadt, ein Museum zu etablieren, das sich mit der industriellen und kulturellen Vergangen-
heit von Stadt und Region auseinandersetzen sollte.

Ein erster bescheidener Anfang wurde bereits 1958 mit der Einrichtung eines Techniksaales im Kulturhistorischen Museum gemacht. Unter den gegebenen räumlichen Verhältnissen aber war eine umfassende Ausstellung, die der langen Tradition und Größenvielfalt der Magdeburger Gewerbe- und Industriegeschichte hätte gerecht werden können, nicht möglich. 1993 entschloss sich die Stadt Magdeburg zum Aufbau eines Technikmuseums in der ehemaligen Produktionshalle 18 des Schwermaschinen-
bau-Kombinats "Ernst-Thälmann".

In der 1871 errichteten Halle produzierte ursprünglich das Grusonwerk mittels einem von ihrem Gründer Hermann Gruson speziell entwickelten Hartgussverfahren Güter für Eisenbahn und Militär. Durch die Übernahme des Grusonwerks 1893 durch die Firma Friedrich Alfred
Krupp aus Essen wurde nun ein Großteil der Rüstungs-aufträge des Krupp-Gruson-Werks vom Essener Standort übernommen. Gleichwohl entwickelte sich die vormalige Panzergießerei zu einem wichtigen Standort der deutschen Rüstungsindustrie. Diese vor allem im Zusammenhang mit dem 2. Weltkrieg "kriegswichtige" Produktion in Magdeburg war eine Ursache für die großflächige Zerstörung der Stadt im Jahr 1945.

Später wurde der Betrieb zunächst als "Sowjetische Aktiengesellschaft" (SAG) weitergeführt und 1951 in "Ernst-Thälmann-Werk" umbenannt. Bei der Kombinatsbildung 1969 wurde das Werk Stammbetrieb des SKET und zum Zentrum des Schwermaschinenbaus der DDR. Nach der Wiedervereinigung diente die Halle noch bis 1993 dem Stahlbau.

Der Museumsbetrieb wurde hier im Mai 1995 mit einem Schaudepot eröffnet.