MuseumExhibition
Aeronautics
Our exhibition offers you:
Back

Motorized aircraft - Hans Grade
In the presence of reporters from Magdeburg and Berlin, the aviation pioneer Hans Grade took off with his homemade triplane on October 28 in 1908. The newspaper headline read: "Today, the engineer Hans Grade has successfully conducted his first flight on the Cracauer Anger in Magdeburg." The Berlin newspaper BZ even announced: "The birth of German aviation!"
The triplane was secretly built in a shed, since Grade was afraid to make a fool of himself – although he used a 36 hp six cylinder two-stroke engine, 26 ft (8 m) long wings and a homemade power distributor. For him, it was not about flying a certain distance, but the flight itself was the aim. On September 19 in 1908, the local newspaper "Magdeburger Generalanzeiger" announced the testing of the flying machine. After completing first rolling tests, short jumps followed, favored by uneven area.
Hans Grade described the first steps toward controlled motorized aviation as follows: "After a long jump flight, a woman suddenly crossed my way. I either had to knock her over, jump or even better - fly over her. I pulled the elevator and reached a height of 26 ft (8 m). I did not feel well and my machine did not seem to like this height either.
Since the aircraft oversteered, its right wing made contact with the ground and crashed. There I was sitting like Scipio looking over the ruins of Carthage. With my first crash in front of me and my first flight behind me." Grade finally managed to achieve an outstanding flying performance with his second airplane, a monoplane called “Libelle” (dragonfly). Especially the steering capability of the "Libelle" was improved, so that - compared to the triplane - one could really speak of controlled motorized aviation now.

MuseumsAusstellung
Luft- und Raumfahrt
Das bietet unsere Ausstellung!
Zurück

Motorflugzeuge - Hans Grade
Im Beisein Magdeburger und Berliner Reporter erhob sich Hans Grade am 28. Oktober 1908 auf seinem selbstgebauten Dreidecker in die Lüfte. Die Zeitungen titelten: "Heute ist dem Ingenieur Grade auf dem Cracauer Anger in Magdeburg der erste Flug gelungen." Die Berliner Zeitung BZ verkündete gar "die Geburtsstunde der deutschen Fliegerei!"

Der Dreidecker war heimlich in einem Schuppen gebaut worden, da Grade Angst hatte, sich trotz seines Sechzylinder-Zweitaktmotors von 36 PS, den 8 Meter langen Tragflächen und des selbstgebauten Stromverteilers zu blamieren. Es ging noch nicht um das Zurücklegen vorbestimmter Strecken, das Fliegen selbst war Ziel der Übung. Am 19. September 1908 kündigte der "Magdeburger Generalanzeiger" die Erprobung des Fluggerätes an. Nach den ersten Rollversuchen erfolgten, durch Bodenerhebungen begünstigt, kurze Sprünge.
Hans Grade beschrieb die Anfänge des gesteuerten Motorfluges so: "Nach einem langen Sprungflug rannte mir eine Frau in den Weg. Entweder mußte ich sie umreißen, überspringen oder besser - überfliegen. Ich zog am Höhensteuer. Ich erreichte eine Höhe von 8 m. Mir war nicht wohl dabei, auch meiner Maschine schien diese Höhe nicht zu behagen.

Sie rutschte über den rechten Flügel ab, da sie übersteuert war und machte Bruch. Da saß ich nun wie Scipio über Karthagos Trümmern. Vor mir lag mein erster Bruch, hinter mir mein erster Flug." Hervorragende fliegerische Leistungen Grades sind erst mit seinem zweiten Flugzeug, einem Eindecker, den er "Libelle" taufte, verbunden. Vor allem die Steuerfähigkeit der "Libelle" wurde im Vergleich zum Dreidecker stark verbessert, so daß nun von kontrolliertem Motorflug gesprochen werden konnte.